June 2004
Silva Screen releases Dimitri Tiomkin: The Essential Film Music Collection

Silva Screen Records will release a special limited collector’s edition of The Alamo: The Essential Dimitri Tiomkin Film Music Collection on June 21. With more than 200 minutes of music, including more than fifty tracks from thirty classic films, this four CD set contains music from Westerns, epics, Hitchcock thrillers, and drama and high adventure. A suite from The Alamo and “The Tiomkin Vocal Songbook” including “Do Not Forsake Me,” “Thee I Love,” “The Ballad of Jett Rink,” and “The Ballad of the War Wagon” round out the selections. The music is performed by the City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra and the Crouch End Festival Chorus conducted by Nic Raine, Paul Bateman, and Mario Klemens. Produced by James Fitzpatrick, with orchestrations largely by Patrick Russ and Christopher Palmer, this represents the most complete collection of Tiomkin music ever assembled on CD. Premiere recordings of music from Tarzan and the Mermaids, Tension at Table Rock, The War Wagon, The Well, The Wild Wild West, and others make this a must-have for any film music enthusiast. The twenty page booklet contains copious liner notes by David Wishart and introductory remarks by Olivia Tiomkin Douglas who states, “It is thrilling to see this Dimitri Tiomkin compilation come to fruition, the realization of so many dreams.”

Order it at www.silvascreenusa.com.

This entry was posted in 2004, CD releases and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.